Alyn & Deeside (Assembly Constituency)

Alyn and Deeside is a constituency of the National Assembly for Wales. It elects one Assembly Member by the first past the post method of election. Also, however, it is one of nine constituencies in the North Wales electoral region, which elects four additional members, in addition to nine constituency members, to produce a degree of proportional representation for the region as a whole.

The constituency has been represented by Jack Sargeant since February 2018.


The constituency was created for the first election to the Assembly, in 1999, with the name and boundaries of the Alyn and Deeside Westminster constituency. It is entirely within the preserved county of Clwyd. For the 2007 Assembly election, there were minor changes to the constituency’s boundaries. For Westminster purposes, the same boundary changes became effective at the 2010 United Kingdom general election.

As created in 1999, the North Wales region includes the constituencies of Alyn and Deeside, Caernarfon, Clwyd West, Clwyd South, Conwy, Delyn, Vale of Clwyd, Wrexham and Ynys Môn (Anglesey). From the 2007 election the region includes Aberconwy, Alyn and Deeside, Arfon, Clwyd South, Clwyd West, Delyn, Vale of Clwyd, Wrexham and Ynys Môn (Anglesey).

Assembly Members

Election Member Party
1999 Tom Middlehurst Labour
2003 Carl Sargeant Labour
2018 Jack Sargeant Labour

Alyn & Deeside (UK Parliament Constituency)

Alyn and Deeside is a parliamentary constituency represented in the House of Commons of the Parliament of the United Kingdom(at Westminster). The constituency was created in 1983, and it elects one Member of Parliament (MP) by the first-past-the-post method of election. The constituency has always elected Labour MPs, although in the landslide Conservative Party victory in the 1983 general election, the Conservatives were able to mount a strong challenge.


1983-1997: The District of Alyn and Deeside, and the Borough of Wrexham Maelor wards 13 and 14.

1997-2010: The District of Alyn and Deeside.

2010–present: The Flintshire County electoral divisions of Aston, Broughton North East, Broughton South, Buckley Bistre East, Buckley Bistre West, Buckley Mountain, Buckley Pentrobin, Caergwrle, Connah’s Quay Central, Connah’s Quay Golftyn, Connah’s Quay South, Connah’s Quay Wepre, Ewloe, Hawarden, Higher Kinnerton, Hope, Llanfynydd, Mancot, Penyffordd, Queensferry, Saltney Mold Junction, Saltney Stonebridge, Sealand, Shotton East, Shotton Higher, Shotton West, and Treuddyn.

This Cheshire/Wales boundary seat is part of the industrial hinterland north of Wrexham and west of Chester. It was formerly known as East Flintshire until the 1983 boundary review, in which it was renamed after the Alyn and Deeside district created in 1974. The main population areas in the current seat include Shotton, Connah’s Quay, Buckley, Hawarden and Caergwrle.

Members of Parliament

Election Member Party
1983 Barry Jones Labour
2001 Mark Tami Labour
Link to Instagram Link to Twitter Link to YouTube Link to Facebook Link to LinkedIn Link to Snapchat Close Fax Website Location Phone Email Calendar Building Search